This animation shows the inner Solar System with the planets orbiting the Sun.

If you would like to read along, here is the text!

The inner Solar System is the region comprising the 4 terrestrial planets, and the asteroid belt that includes the Dwarf planet Ceres. The asteroid belt resides between the Orbits of Mars and Jupiter, it is thought to be remnants from the Solar System’s formation that failed to form a planet because of the gravitational interference of Jupiter.

The four inner planets have dense, rocky compositions, which form their crusts and mantles, and metals such as iron and nickel, which form their cores. The closest, smallest, and fastest planet, is Mercury. Next is Venus the hottest, similar in structure, and size to Earth, the planet we live on, is the third, Then we have, Mars, a cold desert world. It is half the diameter of Earth.

Three of the four inner planets, Venus, Earth and Mars, have atmospheres substantial enough to generate weather. All orbit the Sun in a counter clock wise direction, have impact craters and tectonic surface features such as rift valleys and volcanoes.